(+1) 718-5225575

European citizens traveling to the United States for tourism do not need to apply for a visa if the trip does not last longer than 89 days

Instead, they should apply for ESTA - Electronic System for Travel Authorization. ESTA must be applied for online. It costs $21 and is valid for two years

Many European countries are included within the U.S. Visa Waiver Program, which makes it easier for citizens to enter the United States, as it frees them from the need to apply for a visa to enter the U.S. when the trip lasts no longer than 89 days

You apply for ESTA [Electronic System for Travel Authorization] by filling out a mandatory online form that must be completed by all travelers who want to enter the U.S. The cost of applying for ESTA is $21.

ESTA lasts for 2 years or until the passport expires [if the passport expires before the 2-year ESTA validity period]

ESTA can only be applied for by citizens of countries participating in the Visa Waiver Program

Those who hold any U.S. visa [B1; B2; J1; F1; E1; E2; O1 etc.] do not need to apply for ESTA to enter the U.S.

As of December 19, 2016, the ESTA form includes a social media entry: the person must indicate one or more social media profiles that belong to them.

One of the questions included in the ESTA application form asks if you have ever been denied a visa to the United States. If you have ever had your application for a U.S. visa rejected, then you will not be able to obtain ESTA, and in order to visit the United States you will have to apply for a visa after an interview with a U.S. consulate in your country of residence.

The "ESTA" travel authorization is not a visa: it verifies that the person can travel to the United States within the Visa Waiver program and, in essence, functions as an authorization to board a plane or ship bound for the United States without necessarily needing a visa.

If ESTA travel authorization is rejected, it is necessary to apply for a B-1 Business visa for business stays or a B-2 visa for tourist stays

Approved travel authorization does not guarantee the applicant's right to enter the United States. This is true for all issued U.S. visas: the immigration officer on arrival always has the power to deny entry to the United States even if a visa is present.

Countries included in the Visa Waiver Program

  1. ITALY
  2. Andorra
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium 
  6. Brunei
  7. Chile
  8. South Korea
  9. Denmark
  10. Estonia
  11. Finland
  12. France
  13. Germany
  14. Japan
  15. Great Britain (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales)
  16. Greece
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Ireland
  20. Latvia
  21. Liechtenstein 
  22. Lithuania
  23. Luxembourg
  24. Malta
  25. Monaco
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway
  28. Netherlands
  29. Portugal
  30. Czech Republic
  31. San Marino
  32. Singapore
  33. Slovakia
  34. Spain
  35. Sweden
  36. Switzerland
  37. Taiwan

Related articles

United States Visas
Export Services

United States Visas

ExportUSA handles applications for all types of United States visas. We specialize in applications for work visas.

Advice to Italians who want to start a company in the U.S.
How to request visas for the United States

Going to live in the United States on an E2 visa: interview with an Italian Manager living in America

Moving to the United States for work on an E2 visa: interview with Alberto Salamone